Open/Close mobile submenu

Advanced Certification Primary Stroke The Joint Commission

Day Kimball Healthcare has attained advanced certification by The Joint Commission. This means that this program:

provides the next generation of stroke care

hasmet and seeks to maintain The Joint Commission’s high standards in providing stroke or heart failure care



The Joint Commission's Primary Stroke Center Certification Program, launched in December 2003, was developed in collaboration with the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association (AHA/ASA). Currently, there are more than 1,000 certified primary stroke centers in all 50 states plus Puerto Rico. Certification is available only to programs in Joint Commission-accredited acute care hospitals.
The Certificate of Distinction for Primary Stroke Centers recognizes centers that follow the best practices for stroke care. Programs applying for advanced certification must meet the requirements for Disease-Specific Care Certification plus additional, clinically specific requirements and expectations.

Certified primary stroke centers:

  • Use a standardized method of delivering care based on the Brain Attack Coalition’s “Recommendations for Establishment of Primary Stroke Centers”
  • Support patient self-management activities
  • Tailor treatment and intervention to individual needs
  • Promote the flow of patient information across settings and providers, while protecting patient rights, security and privacy
  • Analyze and use standardized performance measure data to continually improve treatment plans
  • Demonstrate their application of and compliance with clinical practice guidelines published by the AHA/ASA or equivalent evidence-based guidelines

Download Facts About Primary Stroke Certification